Woodbridge boards and commissions named

Woodbridge boards and commissions named
Town Hall and the Woodbridge Town Seal

By Sheila McCreven-Helfenbein, Correspondent
Orange Bulletin August 9, 2001 edition

New and continuing membership has recently been disclosed for the following boards and commissions filled by appointment by the Board of Selectmen. Scheduled meeting dates, times and locations have also been set for the coming year.

The Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Commission meets on the first Tuesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Selectmen's Boardroom at Town Hall. This five-member group oversees a budget of $228,150 as reported in town budget documents for the current fiscal year. Members include; chair David Burke, Dr. Richard Fearon, Dr. Jamie Gerber, Norman Hurwitz and Vincent Romei.

The Board of Finance (BOF) meets on the third Thursday of each month at Town Hall at 5:00 p.m. or as called under special circumstances. The BOF controls a budget of $311,940 for the current fiscal year, which is an increase of $197,910 over last year. Of this total budget amount, $269,790 is the town's contingency fund, which is allocated at the BOF's direction to cover unanticipated costs of running the town government. BOF members are; chair Matthew Giglietti, Leonard Bell, Gregory Egnaczyk, Douglas Ross, Genie Schwartz and Melvin Stoltz.

The Human Services Commission (HSC) is an appointed group made up of a minimum of seven members, to a maximum of twelve members. This commission meets in public session the first Monday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Human Services Conference Room on the main floor of the Center School building. Members of the commission as of July 27, 2001 include; chair Lisa Arpaia, Mary Lee Barker, Frank Cappiello, Vincent Carrano, Janet Ciarlegio, Mary D'Ostillio, Elizabeth Fearon, Elaine Feldman and Janice Miller. The HSC budget for fiscal year 2001-02 is reported as $305,102 which represents an increase of $16,555 over last fiscal year's budget. According to town budget documents, this money is used for a variety of purposes including staff salaries, regional services, office supplies and phone services, program and publicity costs, and youth services.

The Publicly Owned Properties Commission (known as CUPOP) meets in public session, as called by the First Selectman. CUPOP oversees an annual budget of $300 according to town budget documents. These funds have been earmarked for consultant fees, professional development/conferences and supplies. This level of funding is equal to CUPOP's 2000-01 fiscal year budget. As of July 9, 2001 continuing CUPOP members include; Frank Calistro, Eric Demander, Donald Menzies and Anthony Schaffer. Newly appointed members include Maria Courtney and Ron Hedberg. The former chair of this committee, Richard Ridinger, stepped down in May 2000. To date a new CUPOP chair has yet to be named, as the commission has not met since that time.

The Conservation Commission meets on the second Tuesday of each month at 9:30 a.m. at Town Hall. Its members include; chair Kathryn Gartland, Charles Griffith, Maria Kayne, Cathy Shufro, James Urbano and Michael Walter. The Conservation Commission oversees a budget of $3,300, which is the same as its previous year's budget and includes funding to support the town's Historic District as it's largest expense.

8-9-2001 newspaper
Page 8 of the 8/9/2001 edition of the Orange Bulletin